July 30, 2012

  • Had a tooth pulled today……holy friggin crap!

                                

        

     

        I finally had to give in today. I did all I could to prevent it….but alas, it had to be done. I had to have an extraction, (the unnatural process of yanking), today. I had a pre-molar removed, a lifelong friend that had done me good and proper service.  The act of extracting teeth, is actually an unnatural act and a violation of the human skull…..so much for a rant.

        I was offered gas and took it joyfully, because the last time I received a Novocain injection, the needle pierced through my gum and palate and penetrated to the cerebral cortex of my brain. The dentist said I was full of shit, but all I know is I still can’t remember my phone number to this day. Anyway, I was administered the gas and when I returned from my trip, it was all over.  I was relieved, the dentist was satisfied and the assistance, who was in charge of siphoning the life blood from my mouth, was busy texting.

        I have already blogged about dentist before and even though we need them and it’s an honorable profession, it just seems like a strange imbalance of nature to be physically violated, subjected to various levels of pain and then have to pay for the experience….unless they’re wearing a tight bodice and black boots.

     

Comments (16)

  • I hope you have lots of narcotics

  • My time is coming.

  • @ShimmerBodyCream -  I won’t land for at least three days.

  • @runisom48 -  Guess I just wore it out….along with several others.

  • I hope your mouth heals quickly and without too much pain!

  • @slmret - Jack Daniels helps……rubbing it on the gum, of course!

  • Happy that is over for you.  Dentists terrify me.

  • haha. several years ago i had a molar pulled. i went to New York University Dental School for a long time for several reasons. they were less expensive. my insurance covered everything. the students were very careful not to cause pain and i came to realize i was helping them learn. they also had strict supervision. so they gave me lanocane enough that i was numb but between two students, a female and a male they couldn’t pull the tooth. after about 5 minutes i asked them if they wanted me to try which of course caused laughter. eventually a supervisor came back and showed them how to pull it out. there was a loud crunch and it came out in a few seconds. 

    i hope your dentist gave you a prescription for the ensuing pain.

  • @TheSutraDude - I was well numbed for the occasion.

  • Well, if you were gassed, with you mouth wide open at the dentist office, its obvious that you have been tagged. I told you once before dentist are all aliens from the planet Alpha Centauri. So yeah, Charlie, this so called dentist of yours didn’t really pull your tooth, he sort of put a tracking device in your mouth. So, if you feel like you are being followed, try disconnecting the battery thats in your mouth alongside the extraterrestial gadget and maybe that way you will feel less vulnerable.

  • I feel your pain! I had a wisdom pulled last week, & developed a dry socket, which hurts more than the pain I had to begin with! 

  • I had a tooth pulled two years ago. It was a relief for me, but I went through a month of excruciating pain beforehand. The doctor even cut me a deal, comping the price of the regular visit, since it was an emergency and I paid for the operation all at once.

  • Aw, man, Charlie!  You only had the two teeth left and now one’s gone?  Meh!  You still have the prettiest smile I’ve ever seen :)

  • LOL… enjoyed your post and also HATE the dentist (I mean I don’t hate him, just what he does to make a living and I remind him of that fact each year I go for my check up and cleaning)… Thanks for sharing!    ^..^

  •  Dear UncCharlie,

    That nitrous oxide is amazing. When I was 16 y/o, I had a cyst which grew next to one of my teeth eventually causing excruciating pain keeping me up all night. Went to the oral surgeon and I felt so good getting the tooth pulled and the cyst removed. My only dental experience with the gas, but I’ll vouch for it anyday!  Glad things went smoothly. Don’t dislodge the clot and get a dry socket. (that’s another story!)

    Christy

  • I would certainly commit 10 on 10 for such incredible cognition.
    article source

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *