August 23, 2012

  • I Loved A Goddess……….the pain

                ADORATION

     

        I sat and stared at her from across the room. She was beautiful. Her long blond hair was what my grandmother used to call ‘sun blond’. Pure natural rays of blond from near white to mellow wheat and finally gold. She was beautiful. Her skin was clean and fresh and reminded me of the marble statues in museums. She was beautiful. Her smile attracted everybody and without realizing it, you soon found yourself smiling. She was enchanting. Then there were her wondrous eyes. Large as can be and they were pale blue like robin eggs. If she looked your way you felt captured and you could not move again until she looked away and then you would have to catch your breath.

        I watched as her walked across the room, as if a gentle breeze guided her. If she came close enough, I knew I would be intoxicated by the crisp fragrance of spring flowers. She was wonderful. She wore her clothing as if they were the veiled robes of a temple goddess. They covered her body seductively and enhanced her shape and form. The treasures her garments concealed were obvious. She was gorgeous.

        I sat and stared. A coward of my emotions and terrified of rejection. I was lost in love. She was the vision I started my day with and the specter I dwelled upon each and every night before sleep stole her away. I worshiped her. Now, I sit and embrace her with my eyes. My heart is gladly given each day I see her, but yet I can’t and may never speak to her. She exist in another world so unique that I can never hope to be part of it. She was too special for me.

    So I sat….and I stared….and I hoped….and I suffered. Too soon the bell will ring and she will rise and walk out of Mrs. Cooper’s math class and I would not see her again until Mr. Dell’s science class at 2:00. Then my anguish would replenish. Being 16 was cruel.

     

     

     

Comments (8)

  • This brought a smile, and a tinge of the old, almost forgotten ache that I think sleeps in all of us till we recall those days. Nice write!

  • It was not walk in the park for the girls either.

    For my generation, we were still expected to wait and HOPE the guys we fancied would notice us…and fancy us BACK. Only a “forward” girl would do more than glance and smile….sigh…

  • @galadrial -it’s a wonder that any of us “hooked up” back in the polite generations, we were always worried for appearances. 

  • I remember those days in school, only I wasn’t the enchanting girl. I was the creeping person starting haha The only guys that were enchanted by me back than were guys I didn’t no liked me. I liked this story :)

  • you really have a magic touch with words.Ever consider writing a book? or maybe you already have. just wanted to say enjoy your writing

  • @TeamBranham -You’re very kind, my friend.  I’m working on my fourth one now and hope to have it published this Jan. My other three books are at the bottom of this page….C

  • 16 was cruel for girls too….we wanted the boy to approach, but knew they were sometimes too shy!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *