August 29, 2012

  • Do you remember the first grade?

     

        They were known as elementary schools, grammar schools or preteen gulags. My elementary school’s name was Jerome Jones. I never really knew who Jerome Jones was or might have been, but most schools in the south, during those early years, were named after long bearded Confederate generals, politicians or recently dead members of the Board of Education.

        Lil bro and me would get rattled out of bed in the mornings and while we stood on the large floor grate of the main heating duct to get dress, Mom would whip up a batch of her famous dungeon gruel, called oatmeal. After breakfast, we brushed our teeth, combed our hair and took a leak. On the way out the door we were issued our lunch rations for the day of a boloney sandwich, apple and small thermos of cold Ovaltine.  I had my Roy Rogers lunch box and lil bro had my rusty Hopalong Cassidy one from last year. After the door was closed behind us, we could hear Mom sob, “Thank God!”  Mom talked to God a lot back then.

        We waited on the sidewalk until one of the pre-adolescent caravans came by and together we all trudged our way to school. The safety of these small groups afforded protection from the 5th grade bullies and wolves during the winter months.  It can be said that kidnappers and pedophiles were rare back in the 50’s, as most of them were still going to elementary school. Once we got to school, we headed to the bathroom where the 7th grade teacher, Mr. Links, stood guard outside the door.  I was never sure of what he was guarding, unless it was to come to the rescue when one of the boys got his willy caught in his zipper. But, how come Mrs. Calstead stood outside the girls restroom, cause at the age of 7, I already knew the girls didn’t have zippers.

        My classroom was gigantic! The ceilings were almost twelve feet high with a dozen huge light globes hanging from ceiling chains. The windows lined one entire wall and were about ten feet high. The teacher had to use a long pole with a hook on the end to open and close the top part of the windows as well as the glass shutter over the classroom door. The floors were made of wood and had weathered years of little scampering feet and gallons of linseed oil. Our desk were solid oak with a little hole on top for an inkwell, which they used prior to WW II. There was at lease two generations of gum and dried boogers under the seats and the Duck and Cover drills could cause a state of regurgitation while you crouched under that seat.

        Miss Lehr’s gigantic desk stood on a small platform in front of a blackboard that covered the entire wall! On her desk she had books, a flower vase, a little statue of Mary, a pencil cup and usually a few pieces of bruised fruit. I gave her a banana once, but she gave it back. She said it caused little flies…..I didn’t eat another banana until I was 20.  Miss Lehr was beautiful! She smelled good too, just like sun dried bed sheets on a clothesline. She always smiled and made you feel like you wer’t a dork. I was going to marry her when I got older, but changed my mind when I met my third grade teacher, Miss Clover.

        The cafeteria was a wonderment. Everything shined and was scrubbed clean. To this day I can still remember the smell of that big room, but have yet to identify the odor as it reminded me of tainted milk and wet cardboard. Lil bro and me had always toted our lunch to school because Mom said our lunches were made with love and not greasy cafeteria help. I had a difficult time equating love with baloney. Anyway, the food from the cafeteria was a lot different from the patronizing food they dish out to the Ritalin enhanced kids of today. There were no pizzas, tacos’, chicken nuggets or corn dogs with spaghettiO’s. They served wholesome limas, green beans, peas, corn, meatloaf, roasted chicken drum sticks, spaghetti and on Thursdays they had hamburgers and fries. Come Friday, you had a choice of fish sticks, (Pope’s orders), with macaroni and cheese, or, vegetable soup made from limas, green beans, peas, corn, meatloaf, chicken, spaghetti and chopped up hamburgers……baloney looked pretty good on Fridays.

        Recess was a lot like the Disney nature movies, where they show a volcanic beach covered with sea lions all strutting and declaring their piece of the beach. Once again kids clustered into protective groups and played games like; concussion dodge ball, seesaw races, monkey bar contusions or you just got beat up by a sea lion. When the bell rang, the collective herd rushed back inside to form lines at the porcelain water fountains that dispensed room temperature water. Back in the classroom, Miss Lehr would inspect us for any playground injuries and then we would get back to the challenge of our multiplication tables.

        After school and bidding our caravan farewell, lil bro and me would go running up to our front door, eager to show Mom our gold stars for the day, and as we stormed into the house, you could hear Mom sob from the kitchen, “Oh God!”  She talked to God a lot back then.

Comments (36)

  • I remember first grade at Dempster #4 in Eastern South Dakota.  We had a small two room school and I was in the 1-4 group with a sister ahead of me.  There was a water fountain in the hallway that had to be filled each morning by getting water from the hand pump out front.  There was a furnace in the basement that provided heat through a grate in the floor.  I never had more than five students in my grade level.  Fun times. We carried our lunch except for one year when they participated in a federal school lunch program.  I also remember the “air raid” practice as we where sure the Russians were coming to bomb us with an atomic bomb.  Most of the ballistic missile silos were in the western part of the state and part of the NORAD (defense strategy). 

    I appreciated reading about your first grade 

  • we didn’t get a choice on fridays – it was fish sticks and yucky sweet potato patties or nuthin  Our school was Due West Elementary named after the road it was located on which ran due west (unless you were going east)

  • @vexations - Even with all the air raid fears, things just seemed so much simpler then.

  • @mlbncsga - Can’t get it into my GPS…..

  • First grade was one of my two childhood years in the US. I walked with my siblings or rode my scooter, half a mile down the street and around the corner to Crestview School (I still don’t know where the crest was; maybe someone spotted a rooster there once). My best friend was Jerry Jacobs, and my girlfriend was Cindy Heimer. I don’t remember what we did at recess except that it was fun, especially climbing the jungle gym with Cindy. I tripped her once in dance class because I was jealous that she had a different partner, and one day I cheated on her and played on the jungle gym with Diane. I could stand on my head in gym class (Gary and I were best at it). When I took my sister’s cap pistol to school to play with, my teacher took it away and gave it back at the end of day. I had a Green Bay Packers lunchbox (we lived in KC KS that year), which was usually packed with baloney or honey sandwiches (I told my mom I didn’t like peanut butter) wrapped in wax paper. In art class, I was not in the fellowship of paste-eaters; I never understood the mystique. I didn’t care for The Cat In The Hat, either, though it was all the rage; books written for older kids were much more interesting. I once had to get my teacher’s help in rebuttoning my pants after a restroom break, and after that insisted on wearing only pants with zippers.

    After school I hurried home to watch Tory Time, which featured cartoons and a Three Stooges short. (Tory Southwick was the host, and I just now understood the program title, 47 years later. Duh.) Sometimes I went over to Jerry’s house. We once sat in the basement under the workbench with his mom and waited out a tornado warning. She chattered cheerfully and kept us from being scared.

  • I miss those large warm floor grates.  I could get dressed and undressed under my flannel nightie standing over ours, so my little brother wouldn’t see me.  I went to Burbank school, and I knew who Burbank was because they told us every year.

    Our cafeteria served string beans, with strings, and hash…….ugh!

  • @vexations - Your school sounds like where I attended 3rd-9th grades, except ours was more modern. We had 3rd-4rd-5th grades in one class, the older kids in another class, and the younger in a converted garage under the big house next door. My grade varied from 3 to 6 kids depending on who was on furlough (we were all missionary kids), and I graduated in a class of four from 9th grade. There was a one-person bathroom by our classroom, and a similar bathroom next to it, accessible from the outside porch, for the older and younger kids. The foyer between the two classrooms had a water dispenser with a 5-gallon glass bottle, which some of the older guys were strong enough to switch out when it emptied.

  • This certainly brought back a few memories. I do remember floor grates and the wonderful heat they put out. Very much enjoyed.  Thanks for sharing…

  • I went to Central Elementary and when I got my teachers degree worked at Steven Grade School for 25 years.

  • Your poor mom! I loved my first grade teacher, she was just about a midget so she was right on our level. We had porcelain water fountains that dispensed room temperature water but in 5th grade they installed a metal one that was plugged in and had good cold water!

  • Grade one was at Rivercrest Public School. My teacher was Miss Humphrey, she wore her hair piled high on her head.I too had marriage plans for her until the third grade when I had Miss Mitchell.
    My elementary school didn’t serve lunch, we had to walk home and back again in the afternoon, then home again after school.

    Nowadays kids don’t walk a block around here, parents drive them. A young girl got snatched and killed two towns over….25 years ago… and I swear no kid has walked since.
    My mother would have had a stroke if she was expected to drive and pick us up after school.

    Recess was games of 4 square, hopscotch, or red rover. Girls were plague ridden…and it was all wonderful.

  • I attended Wellington elementary. Go Wildcats! Here me roar! My first grade teacher was the ever so wonderful, Ms. Menzie. She was the sweetest, kindest teacher I’ve ever known. Not like the mean, nasty bitch, Mrs. Bruce, I had the following year. I recall how eager I was to learn in Ms. Menzie’s class. She was always so encouraging. She is one of two teachers I fondly remember. During recess, I played chinese jumpers, jump rope, hopscotch, ring around the rosie, and my favorite…kissing tag! lol! It’s funny because I thought little boys were sooo icky. Ahh, good times!

  • My first grade teacher was also my second grade teacher and then she retired. The classroom had a wall with windows and green curtains like you would find in a hospital. Next to the windows was teacher’s table and in front of her was 5 desks parallel to the wall, parallel to that was another 5 desks and then another. 2 pupils sat at each desk. There was 30 kids in my class (a number which later changed only a little bit), and I missed the first day of school due to a flu. When I came in the second day of school, the teacher greeted me at the door, and she told my mom everything would be alright. Then she sat me down next to a girl, who, as we all later found out, was the 2nd best pupil in our generation. Behind the teacher was a big closet for her books and other school supplies right in front of another wall next to which was a green blackboard which went all the way to the door through which I came in. There were two other classes with us and each of them had almost 30 pupils. It was 1994 and the war was still raging, but not in our town. We didn’t have cafeteria, but we had an option of receiving a meal for a big break through a bakery, and it was something different every day. I took my lunch from home, which was usually a sandwich with salami and cheese. I was also one of three pupils who didn’t take catechism classes. Our teacher would give us something to do during those 45 minutes twice a week. Few kids that were with me in kindergarten were with me in class, as was my neighbor whom I known really well.

    The school had a basketball field and a mini soccer field and was right in front of my home. All kids walked to school couse it was all nearby.

  • You remember more about the first grade than I do.  I don’t remember my first grade teacher’s name.  I just remember asking her how ducking under a desk was going to protect anyone from a nuclear bomb and telling her to send my lunch to the starving kids in Africa because I wasn’t going to eat it.  I remember doing a lot of really fun stuff in science and hating math with a passion.  

  • I don’t really remember 1st grade. We moved at least once a year back then. I think that it was L.A. Morgan Fine Arts School in Galveston. I do remember staying after school for tutoring and getting those delicious brownies with walnuts that you can now buy at the store. They aren’t as good as they used to be. These are all wonderful memories that you have. I was the lead teacher of the three-year-old class a few years ago and the building we were in was once a school and they had those tall rooms with the wooden floors and the 10-foot windows. They also had a “bomb-shelter” sign still on the front of the building from the Red Scare. I loved the way it smelled when it rained and the wood would swell. I love old buildings. Have always wanted to live in a Victorian-styled home. =) Thanks for sharing. =) 

  • great story. wonderful details. i love your mom haha. i remember k through 12. i started 2nd grade at a new school. my family had moved to a rural suburb of Connecticut. i’m glad moved again a year later. i remember that year as being my first experience seeing black kids and racism. we were on the playground after lunch on my first day. i didn’t know anyone. kids were playing with balls that were handed out and on the monkey bars and swings and what not. i noticed off in the distance a group of kids sort of huddle together by themselves, watching the kids where i was play. this group of about 6 kids didn’t have anything to play with and they had dark skin. i felt sorry for them and began walking toward them. i wanted to invite them to come and play. the first thing i noticed was all their eyes went straight to me and they seemed a little nervous that i was walking toward them. i didn’t get very far. a teacher yelled out to me and asked where i was going. i told her i was going to invite those kids to play with us. she told me to come back. i did. she then told me “don’t go there. those kids keep to themselves.” i didn’t realize until much later that i had gotten my first look at institutionalized racism. all i knew was i felt badly for those kids and even today the memory breaks my heart. there would be no way to do this but i wish i could find them today and tell them i was sorry. i wonder if any of them would remember the white kid who began walking toward them but turned back. 

  • and you were like me. one of the tall kids always put in the back for photos. 

  • @heart_leigh - I forgot about the girls and hopscotch!!

  • @MommaFish89 - You’re right! I forgot about the air raid signs at school.

  •         I’ve been reading comments on other post about all your blogs and had to come check you out. Without a doubt, you are one of the best writers on Xanga!!

  • I couldn’t help laughing about your Mom praying. 

  • Recess was all about getting a rank in fighting (wrestling).  A “fight” ended when somebody got pinned.  Nobody ever got hurt.  I was ranked #1 in first grade, then Richard Laird dominated me the next year. Oh, also in recess, we spread the first-grade culture.

    “Did you get my letter?”  ”No.”  ”I forgot to STAMP it.” (stamping on kid’s foot)
    “Father?  At least I have a father, not just a bald headed suspect!”

  • This brought back memories!  Well written!

  • Mrs. Phelps my first grade teacher that is what I remember about the first grade…She was fantastic.

  • You write wonderful memories, that inspire and bring out wonderful memories, not just in me, it seems, but in all of us. Thank you for these stories!

  • @angys_coco - Yeah, now my wife does it.

  • @JadeMaster2 - Thank you dear friend, very much…….Charlie

  • @old_snapshots - Thank you very much.

  • @TheSutraDude - The memories can grow stronger as we age sometimes when it brings back sadness or pain.

  • @UncCharlie - Rolling on the floor laughing….. 

  • I had Mrs. Hewitt. This makes me want to write about my experience. Great post!

  • @UncCharlie - you’re right. my memories from between K and 2nd grade stuck with me because there was some amount of trauma involved. i punched a kid in kindergarten because he made a girl cry and laughed about it. now he was crying. the teacher intervened and scolded me until i explained why i punched him. haha you can imagine the scene. 

  • “Hey kid, you’re reported.”

    The fifth graders used to torment us.

    (sobbing) “wh — why?”

    “For walking on the face of the sidewalk.”

    (whimper, sob)

  • I just sprained my finger scrolling down here.  It’ll be weeks before I can flip a decent bird.  I hope you’re happy!

    I must admit the green-eyed monster reared its ugly head when you said your school had a cafeteria.  Wow!!  Luxury!  If we didn’t bring our lunch, we didn’t eat.  Well, that’s not quite true.  Thems what din’t bring a lunch got bits and pieces of everyone else’s by order of The Lunch Nazi.  And you had a lunchbox??  You some kinda rich kid, huh?  I had to suffer endless humiliations of toting my lunch in a bread bag!  Everyone could see what I had!!  It was HORRIBLE!!!  I can’t believe I didn’t hurl myself off of the top of the swing set.  Oh, wait a sec – I did!  :)

  • @BootLady - 

    Were y’all Gypsies?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *